Choice is a gift to us all…….

Happiness is a state of being we are all capable of, if we’d only allow ourselves the freedom of a better perspective on life to reach it. I spent most of my teens and early adulthood believing that happiness was a myth; too caught up in my own cynicism to appreciate that we all had the potential to smile and mean it.  For me, it took being at an emotional rock bottom, for the gazillionth time, to realise it was my attitude that needed to change, not my circumstance; something of which I have been reminded of recently.  We all hit a bit of funk now and then, especially, if you’re like me, you know something needs to happen but you don’t have the patience to wait for it.  This simply results in mental and physical suffering.  Sometimes all it needs is a gentle nudge to help open your eyes and regain focus.

This is all well and good if you already have the knowledge and understanding to realise that, beyond the single hovering cumulus, your life remains on track, and that it is merely a case of blowing the cloud away.  For some, no amount of reasoning can assist in manoeuvring clouds from above their heads.  They are permanently hard done by, permanent victims.  I was one of them once; so blind I thought the world was conspiring against me.  Fortunately I grew out of that.  With a simple adjustment to attitude, and even despite no real change whatsoever to circumstance, your whole life can improve.  It really is all about perspective.

When you are so embroiled in bitter unhappiness, nothing goes right for you.  And why should it?  When you are filling life with so much negative energy, how can you expect to receive, or maintain anything good?  Naturally you are going to deny yourself opportunities; sabotage your own potential and eventually wind up alone as you push the right people away forever and keep the arseholes of the world around you.  I recognised this pattern in my life many years ago and continue to make changes to prevent it from happening again.  If you believe you have done no wrong and that it’s everyone else that is to blame for your lack of happiness, then you will never succeed in anything.  In truth, you are solely responsible for the state of your life……if you always lose, where others seem to win, whose fault is that?

We all deserve to be happy.  There genuinely is so much happiness to have.  There are some poor souls out there who have been through the most terrible ordeals yet still have the presence of mind to be thankful for the things that made them who they are, for the blessings they have been afforded and actively choose to be happy; because, when it comes down to it, it is all about choice.  You can either choose to live in misery, or choose to live in happiness.  We can all be forgiven a temporary lapse when things go wrong, we are none of us infallible and need support occasionally; but we should always be aware that the storms pass and brighter days continuously beckon.

I am the happiest I’ve been in a long time.  I have a much more positive attitude to life than my in formative years and the people I choose to have around me reflect that.  I’m not perfect; I still stress about things I can’t change, to a certain degree, but then that’s not always a bad thing; it means I constantly strive to be better as opposed to just plodding my way through life.  I take responsibility for my actions, I accept blame when I make mistakes and I treat the people I love with the respect they deserve; I am deeply thankful for everything I have and have had.  These are the reasons I have a beautiful love in my life again; these are the reasons I maintain good friendships;  these are the reasons I hold my head high.

Don’t wallow.  Let go.  Be blessed.  Be healthy.  Be loved.  Be happy.

JG

Leave a Reply

