Amore Day!!!!

love-mod

 

 

Ah….Valentine’s Day…….the mere thought of it puts a bright smile on my face and a warmth in my heart. ♥

I took myself out for a walk this evening; ran a couple of errands and thought I’d walk to the 24hour supermarket to treat myself.  Now, I don’t mind telling you that I bought myself a very luxurious box of chocolates, a bottle of Disaronno (to be consumed in moderation, unlike the chocolates) and some cute Valentine’s Day paraphernalia.   I would have bought flowers, but alas, I was too late and they had sold out, still I can get some when I return home on Sunday.  🙂

This is my first Valentine’s as a single girl again.  I had two with my last partner (N); the first one, well we were ‘together’ but not together….if you know what I mean. 😉   By the time the next Valentine’s Day came around, we were serious and oh how the gifts were showered!  ‘Twas a lovely time.  Prior to her I’d been on my own for five years. 

Those five years before N were very bitter ones.  I boycotted every Valentine’s Day because I was embroiled in my own self pitying, bitter resentment at being rejected by D, after seven years together.  I hated that she was with someone and I wasn’t.  I hated that I loved so much but had no-one to give it to.  I immersed myself in my own tragedy.  Shame on me.

Now, though, as I find myself single again and, despite the face that N is, presumably, still with the person she got with after me; I find that I have absolutely no bitterness, no resentment, no animosity towards love, or towards any individual.  Instead I am really excited about the day ahead!!  I know that sounds daft, but you see, I have so much love in me……….and that is all I feel.  Love.  I appreciate everything that I had when I was part of a couple.  I may no longer be in love, but nothing can ever take away the Valentine’s Days that I have been lucky enough to share.  And as singletons, why shouldn’t we treat ourselves on occasions like this?  I realise buying yourself a gift is no comparison to receiving one, nor is it compensation for not having anyone to buy for; but, quite frankly, a girl should not have to go without!!

I’m excited for all the couples out there who get to indulge in the romance of it all.  There is nothing greater than being with the one you love, on any day of the year, but Valentine’s….just has that little something extra special.

One day, I may get my perfect Valentine’s, with the one I love……being whisked off to Paris maybe……………..ah oui, mon amour!!!!  But until then, or if maybe it never happens, at least there is no more bitterness left in me.  I can’t wait to see the abundance of love all around tomorrow.

Whether single, or taken, enjoy the wonderful day ahead.

With lots of love,

JG

xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

